One of the challenges of Sortd is that the behaviour of delete and archive is treated differently between Gmail and task management systems, i.e. archiving an email thread does not necessarily mean I want to archive the Task, especially if there are other email threads and notes associated with the task. Consequently the nature of tasks and emails and their behaviour of delete/archive does not translate cleanly into an entity that combines emails and tasks.
However, we believe we have come up with a relatively clean solution to this -
1. When archiving an email thread from the Sortd Inbox:
Sortd works in exactly the same fashion as Gmail. Archiving simply removes the inbox label and the email can be retrieved from the All Mail folder.
2. When deleting an email thread from the Sortd Inbox:
Sortd works in exactly the same fashion as Gmail. Deleting simply removes the inbox label and moves the message to the Trash folder (which gets truly deleted within 30 days).
3. When archiving or completing a task (from one of your Sortd lists), Sortd works as follows:
a. If the Task has an email on it, then Archiving/Completing the task will essentially Archive the task and will simultaneously Archive all associated emails on that task. Sortd immediately then presents an extra option to confirm if you also would like to move the related emails to a folder or if you want to delete the emails instead.
b. If the Task is a simple To Do i.e. with no emails on it, the Task will be archived.
3. When deleting a task (from one of your Sortd lists), Sortd works as follows:
a. If the Task that has an email on it, then Deleting the task will Delete the task BUT will simultaneously Archive all associated emails on that task. Currently Sortd does not offer extra options to allow you to file related emails for task that you delete.
b. If the Task is a simple To Do i.e. with no emails on it, the Task will be deleted.
If you want the access tasks after they are finished, you might want to rather Complete a task rather than Archiving a task (if the task is done). Please be aware that completed tasks do get archived after 30 days. To view or hide completed tasks on you lists, you can toggle the setting in the options/filters option above your lists:
Currently, there is no way retrieve archived tasks however you can always retrieve the related emails. An archive task view is on our plan. In the interim, please consider Completing tasks instead if you want to get back to those tasks (within 30 days).
To retrieve archived emails, you can simply search for them or find them in the All Mail folder.