Sortd is a hybrid task and email manager, and in some cases (most importantly when tasks and emails are linked), it is important to understand what happens when you remove items by Archiving, Deleting or Marking complete.  This is a detailed explanation of what happens in each case.


The most important thing to know is that the Archive and Delete buttons in the Inbox work exactly the same way as they do in standard Gmail mode... however if an item is on one of your Sortd lists they behave differently.  The reason for this is that if you drag an email to one of your Sortd lists there are now really two (linked) items - Sortd creates a task and 'embeds' the email in that task.

Here's a list of the expected behavior for the Archive, Delete and Mark Complete options in various cases:


1. Emails in your Inbox or any other folder




Archive
Archives the email / thread (i.e. removes the Inbox label).

Delete

Deletes the email / thread.



2. Standalone Tasks (with no emails)




Archive

Hides the task.

*Note: It’s currently not possible to view archived tasks, that feature will be released soon.

If you want to view the archived email you can either search for it in Sortd or in Gmail.


Delete
Permanently deletes the task.

Complete

Marks the task complete, moves it to the bottom of the list and greys it out.

* To show / hide completed tasks expand the Options/Filters panel at the top.

** Completed tasks will be automatically archived after 30 days.



3. Tasks with one or more emails



Archive
- Hides the task
- Archives any embedded emails.

  *Note: It’s currently not possible to view archived tasks, that feature will be released soon.

  If you want to view the archived email you can either search for it in Sortd or in Gmail.


Delete
- Permanently deletes the task.
- Archives any embedded emails.
* Note: If the same email is embedded in one/more other tasks it will not be archived.

Complete

- Marks the task complete, moves it to the bottom of the list and greys it out.

- Archives any embedded emails.

** Completed tasks will be automatically archived after 30 days.



The options at the top of the email preview pane behave in exactly the same way.



If you want to show or hide your completed items, click on the "FILTER" button at the top of the screen and check or uncheck "Completed".