Yes, Sortd can work with Gmail Conversation View switched off but you will be missing a number of Sortd's most powerful features, particularly if you want to share emails in a team.  We recommend that you switch Gmail Conversation View on, which is the default for Gmail.


If you want to switch of Gmail Conversation ON, follow these easy steps:


Step 1. Open Gmail Settings using the settings cog at the top of Gmail and then scroll to the bottom and check the Conversation View check box as shown below.



Step 2.  Gmail will ask you to reload and that's all you need to do! 



Note: Gmail has made a number of good improvements to Conversation View over the years.  Previously, Conversation View caused an issue when different emails were sent with the same subject line.  Google now more intelligently groups related emails together and separates out unrelated emails onto their own threads learn more here.


If you want to rather continue with Conversation View OFF:


Gmail allows users to turn Conversation View Off, which means that each new email is standalone and not grouped into an Email Thread or Conversation as is the default Gmail mode. 


Prior to Sortd release 0.20.11 Sortd allowed Conversation View to be turned off, but this only partially worked in that messages in the Sortd Inbox would still be grouped by Thread, although only the latest message would be displayed in the message preview. From 0.20.11 the Inbox is now displayed in single message view too.


It is NOT recommended that one switches between these two modes regularly, as any tasks created in Sortd will reference either the Thread (if in Conversation View mode when the Task was created) or the single email message (if not in Conversation View mode), and switching between the modes will NOT cause the Task emails to be updated accordingly.


When you view Tasks in single message mode that were created in the Thread mode (Conversation View), you will see the most recent email message on that Thread at the point when you switched, not the latest message on the Thread.


Anything you do in single message mode will only affect one message on the thread, so if you archive a message or task it in single message mode, then if you switch back to thread mode, if that thread has more than just that one message it may show up in the Sortd Inbox again.


Similarly to viewing the email, if you apply labels etc to an email on a task it'll also apply to that specific message on the thread if in single message mode.